Structural reform

Transparent structures for quick decisions

FAU underwent a fundamental structural reform in 2007. The goal was to optimise structures for decision-making and information exchange, to make the University more flexible and to strengthen interdisciplinary collaboration. The key components of this structural reform were:

  • restructuring from eleven to five faculties
  • establishing clear departmental structures in the faculties
  • rationalising the Senate
  • restructuring administrative departments as part of a comprehensive administrative reform

The reform resulted in a measured system of checks and balances with a clear distinction between decision-making bodies and those with supervisory functions. This organisational structure ensures a minimum amount of bureaucracy and clear structure, allowing decisions to be made efficiently and external experts to be consulted.

Grouping together closely related subjects in faculties and departments makes interdisciplinary co-operation across subject boundaries easier. This co-operation is further strengthened through the creation of interdisciplinary centres. There are currently 24 centres which organise research projects that require various disciplines to work together in order to succeed.


The benefits of the new organisational structure are:

  • five faculties instead of eleven faculties, supported by a modern management and administrative structure at FAU which allows swift responses to new challenges and developments
  • ideas and suggestions emerging from the faculties and departments can be implemented in the shortest possible time
  • initiatives from the Executive Board and the University Council are rapidly communicated to the various faculties, departments and chairs
  • structure of departments and interdisciplinary centres enables effective and efficient co-operation across subject areas in both research and teaching
  • organised administrative support reduces pressure on academic staff