Steering committee

The Graduate Centre Steering Committee

The FAU Graduate Centre is managed by a steering committee that is responsible for the research tasks assigned to the Graduate Centre.


Prof. Dr. Friedrich Paulsen

Vice President People

Faculty representatives

Prof. Dr. Thomas Demmelhuber

Institute of Political Science
Chair of Middle East Politics and Society

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schoberth

Department of Systematic Theology
Chair of Systematic Theology I (Prof. Dr. Schoberth)

Prof. Dr. Heinrich de Wall

Hans-Liermann-Institute for Ecclesiastical Law
Chair of Ecclesiastical Law, Constitutional and Administrative Law (Prof. Dr. de Wall)

Prof. Dr. med. Karl-Heinz Leven

Direktor des Instituts für Geschichte und Ethik der Medizin

Department of the History and Ethics of Medicine
Chair of the History of Medicine (Prof. Dr. Leven)

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Olaf Gefeller

Department of Medical Informatics, Biometry and Epidemiology
Chair of Biometry and Epidemiology (Prof. Dr. Gefeller)

Prof. Dr. Georg Kreimer

Department Biologie
Professur für Zellbiologie (Prof. Dr. Kreimer)

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Achtziger

Department of Mathematics
Professorship of Applied Mathematics (Prof. Dr. Achtziger)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Knut Graichen


Department of Electrical-Electronic-Communication Engineering
Chair of Automatic Control (Prof. Dr.-Ing. Graichen)

Research staff representative

Nicolai von Schroeders

Department Fachdidaktiken
Chair of Teaching of Mathematics (Prof. Dr. Weth)

Doctoral candidates’ representatives

Simone Gehrer, M. Sc.

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Institute of Theoretical Physics
Professur für Theoretische Physik (Prof. Dr. Smith)

Dr.-Ing. Thorsten Wißmann

Department of Computer Science
Chair of Computer Science 8 (Theoretical Computer Science)

Director of the Graduate Centre

Dr. Stefanie Herberger

Referatsleiterin; Entwicklung wissenschaftlicher Nachwuchs, Strategische Weiterqualifizierung, Coaching, Kooperationen

Department of Strategic Planning
Graduate Centre and Young Researchers Support