Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize

Recognition of outstanding achievement

The German Research Foundation (DFG) awards the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize, named after the physicist and former DFG president, to ten young researchers each year in recognition of outstanding achievement. The prize was first awarded in 1977 and comes with 20,000 euros in prize money. For the young researchers who receive the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize it is a form of recognition and further motivation for their academic work. The prize money is provided by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.